Hawke’s Bay Power Consumers’ Trust

Unison is wholly owned by the Hawke's Bay Power Consumers' Trust (HBPCT).

The HBPCT was established following the passing of the Energy Companies Act in 1992. The Act deregulated New Zealand's electricity industry, permitting the formation of energy retailers and requiring regional electric power boards, or municipal electricity departments, to become commercial entities.

The Hawke’s Bay Electric Power Board became a commercial entity- Hawke’s Bay Power Distribution Ltd - with a retail subsidiary, Hawke’s Bay Power. To ensure the community retained ownership of the retail and distribution of electricity, the Hawke’s Bay Power Consumers’ Trust was established in 1993, and all shares vested in the Trust.

Trust ownership benefits

Trust shareholding ensures the long-term focus of the Company remains on delivering economic benefits to its customers and community shareholders.

Every year the Trust distributed dividends, from Unison Networks Ltd, to Hastings and Napier power consumers.

The benefits of Trust ownership are also reflected in other ways. This includes pre-determine projects to take power lines underground in Hawke's Bay urban areas, additional investment in rural areas to further improve reliability and to reduce the duration of outages, as well as assisting consumers with energy efficiency and conservation projects.

Who sits on the Trust?

The Trust is made up of five elected Trustees, who hold all the shares in Unison on behalf of consumers connected to Unison's electricity network in Hawke's Bay.

The Trustees are Diana Kirton (Chair), Barbara Arnott, Kevin Atkinson, Helen Francis and Ken Gilligan following an election which concluded at 5pm on Monday 2 October 2017.

Meet the Trustees

Trust Deed

The HBPCT operates under a Trust Deed which sets out, in detail, the responsibilities and duties of the Trust and the Trustees.

If you would like to contact the Trust, please use the online form here, or call its Secretary on the number below.


Alternatively, you may like to contact our secretary:

Stephen Dine
PO Box 146
Phone: 06 873 8037
Fax: 06 876 5211

Trust Coverage Area